The School is administered by the Director, the School Council and the Scientific Committee.

  • The Director of the School, with the help of an Associate Director, is responsible for the scientific and administrative activity.
  • The School represents all of of the four scientific areas; it comprises the heads of the Ph D programmes; it advises the Director in coordinating all activities.
    It coordinates the activities of the single programmes and all common activities.
  • The Scientific Committee consists of the Director of the School, who chairs it, and external scholars of renowned expertise in the relevant scientific areas; its function is to propose and to review the activities of the School.


Fabrizio Broglia
(Dipartimento di Matematica)

School Council:

Fabrizio Broglia                   
(Dipartimento di Matematica)

Maria Perla Colombini         (Dipartimento di Chimica e Chimica Industriale)
Pierpaolo Degano
                (Dipartimento di Informatica)

Franco Flandoli                     (Dipartimento di Matematica Applicata)

Kenichi Konishi                     (Dipartimento di Fisica)

Andrea Maggiolo Schettini (Dipartimento di Informatica)

Stefano Merlino                   (Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra)

Francesco Pegoraro
           (Dipartimento di Fisica)

Dario Pini                             
(Dipartimento di Chimica e Chimica Industriale)

Roberto Santacroce            (Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra)

Scientific Committee

Carlos Andradas       (Università Complutense,Madrid)

Hans Brintzinger       (Universität Konstanz, Konstanz)

T.W. Haensch             (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München and Max Planck Institut für Quanten Optik)

Peter M. Maitlis        
(University of Sheffield, Sheffield)

Mogens Nielsen        
(University of Aarhus, DK) 

Arnold L. Rosenberg (University of Massachusetts Amhers, USA)

Francois Treves
          (Rutgers University, Piscataway, New Jersey, USA)

Gabriele Veneziano
   (Collège de France, Parigi)